WMU Foundation | WMU Alumni Skip to main content

WMU Foundation

In 1976, a dedicated group of Western Michigan University alumni and friends foresaw the importance and necessity of private funding for public higher education—and the WMU Foundation was established.

The Foundation is an independent, tax-exempt 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation that operates to raise funds for Western Michigan University. It exists as an independent agency to offer greater flexibility in fund management by operating as a private, not-for-profit corporation. The WMU Foundation maintains private fund accounts from one fiscal year to the next, as well as keeping the confidentiality of donor information.

The WMU Foundation's EIN number is 38-2138856. 

Mission Statement

The mission of the Western Michigan University Foundation is to promote and support Western Michigan University so that it can effectively carry out its mission of teaching, research and service. The Foundation accomplishes its mission by maintaining and enlarging an endowment fund, the income from which provides supplemental financial assistance for current demands. 

The WMU Foundation also fulfills its mission through:

  • Cost-effective fund-raising programs, conducted by the University Advancement Office, which seek participation from a variety of Western Michigan University constituents; and
  • Prudent and responsible administration of the assets entrusted to it by its many constituents; and
  • Effective distribution of its resources to areas of priority within Western Michigan University.


The WMU Foundation is administered by the executive director/secretary, who also serves as the Vice President for University Advancement, and a volunteer Board of Directors, who oversee how funds can best be used to address the most urgent campus priorities. How funds are allocated is dictated by the governing documents for true endowments and/or departments owning the endowment.

Board of Directors

Larry Lueth '74, President, Executive Committee Chair

Jeanne H. Carlson '68, Vice President, Capacity Building Committee Chair

Patrick Allkins '75, Director

Robert M. Beam '65 '71, Director

James S. Brady '66, Director

Lynn Chen-Zhang '91, Director

Philip Chludzinski '80, Director, Finance Committee Chair

Rhonda Davenport-Johnson '84 '93, Director

Kristen R. DeVries, Secretary, Executive Director, Designated Director

Sandra L. (Sandi) Doctor '83, Director, Investment Committee Chair

Bjorn Green, Director

L. Leonard Harrison '76 '86, Director

Keith LaVanway '86, Director

Jennifer L.B Lentner '96, Director

Michael W. Lewis '71, Director

Matthew D. Mace '98, Director

Kenneth V. Miller '67 '70, Director, Real Estate Committee Chair

Edward B. Montgomery, Designated Director

Stephen K. Parker, Director, Committee on Directors Chair

Floyd L. Parks '55 '64, Director

Jonas Peterson, Director

John Shagonaby '97, Director

James K. Sholl '82, Director, Audit Committee Chair

Edd Snyder '70, Director

Kenneth Stephens '86, Director

Robert Tobey ’81, Director

Janice J. Van Der Kley, Treasurer, Designated Director

Christopher C. Womack '79, Director